DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CALEFF, JOHN – Volume V (1801-1820)

d. 23 Oct. 1812 in St Andrews, N.B.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  François Le Moyne de Martigny . - 1935 - Archives de Montréal

Source: Link

MARTIGNY, FRANÇOIS DE (baptized François-Xavier de Martigny, the name he sometimes signed), physician, surgeon, journalist, freemason, and army officer; b. 16 Oct. 1871 in Saint-Romuald-d’Etchemin (Lévis), Que., son of Adelstan de Martigny (Le Moyne de Martigny), a physician, and Louise de Martigny (Lemoyne de Martigny); m. 6 Sept. 1904 Maria Tarte (d. 7 May 1939), daughter of Joseph-Israël Tarte*, in the parish of Saint-Louis-de-France, Montreal, and they had at least five children; d. 28 Sept. 1940 in Montreal.

François de Martigny did his classical studies at the Collège de Lévis and then at the Collège Sainte-Marie in Montreal. After earning his md with distinction from the Université Laval there in 1894, he specialized in surgery in Paris, first at the Hôpital Necker and subsequently at the Hôpital International, where he was assistant surgeon.

During his time in Paris – he would travel back and forth to Montreal for about eight years – he founded (July 1894) in Montreal La Clinique, the periodical of which he was to be the editor in 1895 and the manager from 1910 to 1920. In this monthly, which he sometimes supervised from a distance, he advocated high standards for medical training and did not shy away from criticizing the faculty of medicine at the Université Laval in Montreal. For example, in 1896 La Clinique denounced the appointment, without a competition, of Dr J.‑C.‑S. Gauthier as assistant professor to the chair of hygiene. As a result, the faculty members regarded the magazine’s directors, who used the publication to oppose them, as revolutionaries. In 1897 Martigny would take advantage of one of his Paris trips to acquire original papers by French doctors for publication in La Clinique.

In October 1896, following the example of his brother Adelstan*, Martigny joined L’Émancipation, a Montreal freemasonry lodge, where he became senior warden in 1899. His masonic activities and ideas often got him into trouble with both the Roman Catholic clergy and several of his medical colleagues. Although Martigny was struck from the rolls of L’Émancipation in 1904 for not paying dues, his name would appear on its membership list when it was made public in 1910. To retain the position of surgeon at the Hôtel-Dieu in Montreal, which he held from at least 1909, he had to resume religious observance.

In 1902 Martigny had become one of the first members of the Ligue de l’Enseignement [see Godfroy Langlois*]. This organization called for reforms in education, including hygiene instruction in schools, health inspections, the development of a public-education program, and medical examinations of pupils. The clergy, who saw in these proposals a questioning of its authority, reacted sharply and the activities of the league were eventually shelved two years later. In 1906 the government of France recognized Martigny’s efforts in support of public teaching institutions and named him officier de l’Instruction publique.

The following year Martigny was elected to the board of governors of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Province of Quebec. In this capacity he took part in developing and promoting the Quebec Medical Act, which received royal assent two years later [see Albert Laurendeau*]. A general revision of the province’s medical laws, it had the notable effect of assigning more importance to clinical training in faculties of medicine. Martigny joined several other medical societies, including the Association Française de Chirurgie, the Société d’Urologie de Paris, and the International Association of Urology, memberships that drew criticism from his colleagues, who saw in these affiliations a negative commentary on the French Canadian medical community. In 1914 Martigny tendered his resignation, which was refused, from the board of governors of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Province of Quebec; however, later that year, following an election, he lost his position.

In 1910 Abraham Flexner of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching published a report on the medical schools in Canada and the United States that deplored the lack of practical instruction and laboratories at the Université Laval in Montreal. Martigny took up this cause. With the help of his friend Alexis Carrel (the French surgeon and future recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1912, whom he had met during Carrel’s brief stay in Montreal in June 1904), Martigny had a meeting with Flexner on 12 April 1911 to argue the case for the faculty of medicine.

On 19 March 1915 Martigny enlisted in the French Canadian No.4 Canadian Stationary Hospital, raised by Arthur Mignault for the Canadian Expeditionary Force. He received the rank of major and worked as the hospital’s chief of surgery from May onward. On 6 May he set sail for Great Britain aboard the Metagama. While waiting for his unit to be deployed close to a theatre of military operations, he was temporarily assigned to British hospitals in Woolwich (London) and Princes Risborough. Offered to France by Prime Minister Sir Robert Laird Borden for the care of its wounded, the French Canadian No.4 Canadian Stationary Hospital was set up in 1915 at the Saint-Cloud racecourse in suburban Paris, where it would remain until the end of the war. In July 1916, when the stationary hospital, whose capacity reached 1,400 beds, became the French Canadian No.8 Canadian General Hospital, Martigny was promoted lieutenant-colonel. That September he founded the Association des Médecins Militaires Canadiens, of which he would be president until his return to Canada in 1917. On a few occasions Martigny had been dispatched to the military hospital in Compiègne, run by Carrel, and thus in December 1916 he was awarded the gold medal from the Société du Dévouement in recognition of his constant work and his surgical operations.

Martigny, however, was sent back to Canada before the end of the war. It seems that the ruthless struggle between Major Joseph-Napoléon Roy and Martigny had led to this decision of the military authorities. Roy, who had served in the military for 24 years, thought it unfair that Martigny, in July 1916, had risen to the rank of lieutenant-colonel, which was higher than his own, after only a little more than a year’s experience. He insinuated that Martigny had obtained the promotion because of his family’s political influence. Officially, it was Martigny himself who, for personal reasons, requested his return. In April 1917 he sailed for Canada; he was discharged on 1 December.

A civilian once more, Martigny again worked as a surgeon at the Hôtel-Dieu in Montreal and took part, in September 1919, in founding the Hôpital Français, a secular body responsible for treating the city’s French indigents. But as a result of financial difficulties and pressure from the clergy, the hospital was entrusted to nuns, and nine years later it became the Hôpital Sainte-Jeanne-d’Arc. Martigny worked there as chief surgeon until his retirement in 1938, and was recognized as an important figure in the country’s medical profession.

Martigny maintained a keen interest in military life. After the war he was actively involved with French Canadian veterans. In 1936 he was elected provincial grand president of the Canadian Legion of the British Empire Service League. He was also the provincial president of the Vétérans Français de la Grande Guerre and, in his capacity as lieutenant-colonel, a member of the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps reserves. In August 1939 he asked for the privilege of organizing and taking charge of a military general hospital.

François de Martigny did not, however, get another chance to serve his country. During a fishing trip on the Rivière Nouvelle in the Gaspé region in August 1940, his canoe capsized. He narrowly escaped drowning and was rushed to hospital in Moncton, N.B. He was subsequently transferred to the Hôpital Sainte-Jeanne-d’Arc in Montreal, where he died.

Michel Litalien

BANQ-Q, CE301-S54, 18 oct. 1871. FD, Saint-Louis-de-France (Montréal), 6 sept. 1904. LAC, R611-298-7; R611-316-5, vol.211, file 6-R-382; RG 150, Acc. 1992-93/166, box 2427-1; Acc. 1992-93/167, box 30, file 372-5-56. Le Devoir, 1940. La Presse, 1917–40. BCF, 1920. Rita Desjardins, “Ces médecins montréalais en marge de l’orthodoxie,” Canadian Bull. of Medical Hist. (Waterloo, Ont.), 18 (2001): 325–47. Roger Le Moine, Deux loges montréalaises du Grand Orient de France (Ottawa, 1991). Michel Litalien, Dans la tourmente: deux hôpitaux militaires canadiens-français dans la France en guerre (1915–1919) (Outremont [Montréal], 2003). “Obituaries,” Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 43 (1940): 500–1. Robert Soupault, Alexis Carrel, 1873–1944 (Paris, 1952).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Michel Litalien, “MARTIGNY, FRANÇOIS DE (baptized François-Xavier de Martigny),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 23, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/martigny_francois_de_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/martigny_francois_de_16E.html
Author of Article: Michel Litalien
Title of Article: MARTIGNY, FRANÇOIS DE (baptized François-Xavier de Martigny)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: October 23, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CALEFF, JOHN – Volume V (1801-1820)

décédé le 23 octobre 1812 à St Andrews, Nouveau-Brunswick

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  François Le Moyne de Martigny . - 1935 - Archives de Montréal

Provenance : Lien

MARTIGNY, FRANÇOIS DE (baptisé François-Xavier de Martigny, nom avec lequel il signait parfois), médecin, chirurgien, journaliste, franc-maçon et officier, né le 16 octobre 1871 à Saint-Romuald-d’Etchemin (Lévis, Québec), fils d’Adelstan de Martigny (Le Moyne de Martigny), médecin, et de Louise de Martigny (Lemoyne de Martigny) ; le 6 septembre 1904, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Louis-de-France, Montréal, Maria Tarte (décédée le 7 mai 1939), fille de Joseph-Israël Tarte*, et ils eurent au moins cinq enfants ; décédé le 28 septembre 1940 à Montréal.

François de Martigny fait ses études classiques au collège de Lévis, puis au collège Sainte-Marie, à Montréal. Titulaire d’un doctorat en médecine – reçu avec distinction de l’université Laval à Montréal en 1894 –, il se spécialise en chirurgie à Paris, d’abord à l’hôpital Necker et, ensuite, à l’Hôpital international, où il est chirurgien adjoint.

Pendant qu’il séjourne à Paris (il fera des allers-retours entre Paris et Montréal durant environ huit années), Martigny fonde à Montréal, en juillet 1894, le périodique la Clinique, dont il sera le rédacteur en chef en 1895 et le directeur de 1910 à 1920. Dans ce mensuel, qu’il dirige parfois à distance, il prône la qualité de la formation médicale et n’hésite pas à critiquer la faculté de médecine de l’université Laval à Montréal. En 1896, par exemple, la Clinique dénonce la nomination sans concours du médecin J.-C.-S. Gauthier comme professeur adjoint à la chaire d’hygiène. La faculté juge alors que les directeurs, en utilisant ainsi leur tribune, sont révolutionnaires. En 1897, Martigny profitera de l’un de ses passages à Paris pour trouver des écrits originaux de médecins français à publier dans la Clinique.

En octobre 1896, à l’instar de son frère Adelstan*, Martigny adhère à L’Émancipation, loge franc-maçonne montréalaise, où il devient premier surveillant en 1899. Ses activités et ses idées maçonniques lui occasionnent souvent des ennuis, tant avec le clergé catholique qu’avec plusieurs confrères médecins. Bien que Martigny soit rayé de la liste des membres de L’Émancipation en 1904 pour défaut de paiement, son nom y figurera lorsqu’elle sera rendue publique en 1910. Pour conserver son poste de chirurgien à l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal, qu’il occupe au moins à partir de 1909, il doit alors renouer avec la pratique religieuse.

En 1902, Martigny a été l’un des premiers à devenir membre de la Ligue de l’enseignement [V. Godfroy Langlois*]. Cet organisme réclame des réformes dans l’instruction, notamment dans l’apprentissage de l’hygiène à l’école, l’inspection sanitaire, l’élaboration d’un programme d’éducation publique et l’examen médical des élèves. Le clergé, qui y voit une remise en question de son autorité, réagit vivement et la ligue est finalement mise en veilleuse deux ans plus tard. En 1906, le gouvernement français reconnaît les efforts de Martigny en faveur des établissements d’enseignement publics et le nomme officier de l’Instruction publique.

L’année suivante, Martigny est élu au conseil d’administration du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la province de Québec. À ce titre, il participe à l’élaboration et à la promotion de la Loi médicale de Québec, sanctionnée en 1909 [V. Albert Laurendeau*]. Cette loi, qui est une refonte générale des lois et statuts des médecins, a notamment pour effet de consacrer une part plus grande à la formation clinique dans les facultés. Martigny devient membre de plusieurs autres sociétés médicales, dont l’Association française de chirurgie, la Société d’urologie de Paris et l’Association internationale d’urologie, ce qui lui attire les critiques de ses confrères qui voient dans ces adhésions une dénonciation de la communauté médicale canadienne-française. En 1914, Martigny présente sa démission, qui lui est refusée, au conseil d’administration du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la province de Québec ; il perd cependant son poste plus tard cette année-là, à la suite d’une élection.

En 1910, Abraham Flexner, de la Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, publie un rapport sur les écoles de médecine au Canada et aux États-Unis qui déplore l’absence d’enseignement pratique et de laboratoires à l’université Laval à Montréal. Martigny embrasse alors cette cause. Grâce à son ami, le chirurgien français Alexis Carrel (futur récipiendaire du prix Nobel de physiologie ou médecine en 1912, qu’il a connu pendant son bref séjour à Montréal en juin 1904), Martigny rencontre Flexner le 12 avril 1911 afin de plaider en faveur de la faculté de médecine.

Le 19 mars 1915, Martigny s’enrôle au sein du 4e hôpital militaire stationnaire canadien (canadien-français), levé par Arthur Mignault pour le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Il reçoit le grade de major et exerce les fonctions de chirurgien en chef de l’hôpital à partir du mois de mai. Le 6 mai, il s’embarque pour la Grande-Bretagne à bord du Metagama. En attendant que son unité soit déployée près d’un théâtre d’opérations, il est détaché auprès des hôpitaux britanniques de Woolwich (Londres) et de Princes Risborough. Offert à la France par le premier ministre sir Robert Laird Borden pour le service de ses blessés, le 4e hôpital militaire stationnaire canadien (canadien-français) s’installe en 1915 à l’hippodrome de Saint-Cloud, en banlieue de Paris, et y restera jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. En juillet 1916, lorsque l’hôpital stationnaire, dont la capacité passe à 1 400 lits, devient le 8e hôpital général canadien (canadien-français), Martigny est promu lieutenant-colonel. Il fonde en septembre l’Association des médecins militaires canadiens, qu’il présidera jusqu’à son retour au Canada en 1917. Martigny est envoyé à Compiègne à quelques reprises, dans l’hôpital militaire dirigé par Carrel, ce qui lui vaut, en décembre 1916, la médaille d’or de la Société du dévouement, en reconnaissance de son labeur constant et de ses opérations chirurgicales.

Toutefois, Martigny est renvoyé au Canada avant même la fin du conflit mondial. Il semble que la guerre sans merci que se livrent le major Joseph-Napoléon Roy et lui soit à l’origine de cette décision des autorités militaires. Roy, qui compte 24 années de service militaire, a trouvé injuste le fait que Martigny ait obtenu en juillet 1916 le grade de lieutenant-colonel, plus élevé que le sien, après seulement un peu plus d’une année d’expérience. Il insinue que Martigny aurait bénéficié de cette promotion grâce à l’influence politique de sa famille. Officiellement, Martigny demande lui-même son rapatriement pour des raisons personnelles. En avril 1917, il s’embarque pour le Canada ; il est libéré le 1er décembre suivant.

Redevenu civil, Martigny exerce de nouveau la chirurgie à l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal et participe, en septembre 1919, à la fondation de l’Hôpital français, établissement laïque chargé de soigner des indigents français de Montréal. Toutefois, en raison de difficultés financières et des pressions du clergé, l’hôpital est confié à des religieuses et devient, neuf ans plus tard, l’hôpital Sainte-Jeanne-d’Arc. Jusqu’à sa retraite, en 1938, Martigny y travaille comme chirurgien en chef et est reconnu comme une figure importante de la profession médicale au pays.

Martigny conserve un vif intérêt pour la vie militaire. Après la guerre, il s’occupe activement des vétérans canadiens-français. En 1936, il est élu grand président provincial de la Légion canadienne de la ligue des services de l’Empire britannique. Il est également président provincial des Vétérans français de la Grande Guerre et, en qualité de lieutenant-colonel, membre de la réserve du Corps de santé royal canadien. En août 1939, il réclame l’honneur d’organiser et de prendre en charge un hôpital général militaire.

François de Martigny n’a cependant pas l’occasion de servir encore une fois son pays. En août 1940, au cours d’une partie de pêche à la rivière Nouvelle, en Gaspésie, son canot chavire. Il échappe de justesse à la noyade et est transporté d’urgence à l’hôpital de Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est ensuite transféré à l’hôpital Sainte-Jeanne-d’Arc de Montréal, où il meurt.

Michel Litalien

BAC, R611-298-7 ; R611-316-5, vol. 211, dossier 6-R-382 ; RG150, Acc. 1992-93/166, boîte 2427-1 ; Acc. 1992-93/167, boîte 30, dossier 372-5-56.— BAnQ-Q, CE301-S54, 18 oct. 1871.— FD, Saint-Louis-de-France (Montréal), 6 sept. 1904.— Le Devoir, 1940.— La Presse, 1917–1940.— BCF, 1920.— Rita Desjardins, « Ces médecins montréalais en marge de l’orthodoxie », Bull. canadien d’hist. de la médecine (Waterloo, Ontario), 18 (2001) : 325–347.— Roger Le Moine, Deux loges montréalaises du Grand Orient de France (Ottawa, 1991).— Michel Litalien, Dans la tourmente : deux hôpitaux militaires canadiens-français dans la France en guerre (1915–1919) (Outremont [Montréal], 2003).— « Obituaries », Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 43 (1940) : 500–501.— Robert Soupault, Alexis Carrel, 1873–1944 (Paris, 1952).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Michel Litalien, « MARTIGNY, FRANÇOIS DE (baptisé François-Xavier de Martigny) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 oct. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/martigny_francois_de_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/martigny_francois_de_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Michel Litalien
Titre de l'article:   MARTIGNY, FRANÇOIS DE (baptisé François-Xavier de Martigny)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   23 octobre 2018